Senate Resolution 20-7

Senator Taylor Thompson, Liberal Arts Chairman, Committee on Student Life Senator Morgan Atkins, Panhellenic Committee on Student Life Senator Spencer Johns, School of Engineering Committee on Student Life Senator Michael Messina, Sponsored Committee on Student Life Senator Yasmine Brown, School of Liberal Arts Committee on Student Life Senator Alec Dubois, At-Large Committee on Student Life Senator James Hirsch, At-Large Committee on Student Life Hannah Chauvin **ASB** Secretary

A RESOLUTION OF THE ASSOCIATED STUDENT BODY SENATE TO HONOR AND REMEMBER THE LIVES OF THOSE MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI CAMPUS COMMUNITY THAT HAVE BEEN LOST OVER THIS PAST YEAR.

The Associated Student Body Senate will honor:

Students:

James Willis

Alexandria Kostial

Landrieux Harrah

Madison Ward

Camron Fair

Ethan Hogenson

Cajewel Pegues

Bailey Purkey

Faculty/Staff: William Chappell Charles W Taylor Joe McCaskill James O Nichols John R Neff John H Flynt Roger K Lyles James W. Mann David G Sansing Lucy C Turnbull Barbara Joan Smith Harry Philpot Owens

WHEREAS, the University of Mississippi lost the above students, faculty, and staff from April 1, 2019 through April 1, 2020

WHEREAS, at the end of year the University traditionally holds a memorial service for everyone who has passed away over the past year;

WHEREAS, COVID-19 has disrupted the normal operations of the University causing the 2020 memorial service to be postponed;

WHEREAS, this service is an essential part of the process of grieving and remembering those we have lost;

WHEREAS, a memorial page will be posted for these individuals on the Provost's site this week;

WHEREAS, the ASB Senate traditionally passes resolutions in remembrance of those who passed away but still remain part of the Ole Miss family; AND

WHEREAS, everyone listed in this Resolution was an intricate part of our Campus Community and their lives should be celebrated.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE ASSOCIATED STUDENT BODY SENATE HONORS AND REMEMBERS THE LIVES OF THOSE MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI CAMPUS COMMUNITY THAT HAVE BEEN LOST OVER THIS PAST YEAR.

Committee

Committee Chair

Date

Date of Introduction	Action of Student Senate	Clerk Initials
Acknowle	edgement of Student Body Elected Vice I	President:
Charlotte Shackelford	Date	
ASB Vice President		
А	approval of Associated Student Body Electronic Student	cted President:
Barron Mayfield	Date	
ASB President		
	Acknowledgement of Campus Admir	nistration:
Brent Marsh Dean of Students	Charlotte Far	nt Pegues Chancellor of Student Affairs
_		

Glen Boyce Chancellor